“Signals”

 Image
a tiny, belittled bed
my only refuge
tattered sheets 
my sheer protection

wee-hour clarity
overwhelmingly wide awake
mosquitoes buzzing like blaring sirens
become warning signals…

i dare not sleep
an echo from afar
i pray the Lord
my soul to keep

the softness of angels barely there
begging me not to weep
comforted the coming reality
while i counted sheep

the edge of life literally dangling
i pleaded for the courage to leap
climbing to heaven
no matter how steep

air coming in and out of his nostrils
sneaking up the stairs
growing more fearsome
like thunder from an approaching storm

“Breathing”, please pass by my door
it is shut terrifyingly tight
so dreams of innocence 
shower me with hope in morning’s light

teddy bear clenched 
sweet and pure
merely a child
sleeping in the night

my door opens
his breath upon me 
merely a chlld
weeping in the night

j.k.

 

 
About echowood628

Let me start by saying I have been involved in creative endeavors my entire life. I began playing the piano at age two, composed my first song at age four, and ever since have spent almost every day spending hours allowing my fingers to dance across my keyboard. Composing music for the piano gave me a place to heal and find peace. An art major in college I focused on drawing and figure drawing and I also enjoy oil painting and watercolors. I have always enjoyed poetry and more recently started writing poems and enjoying the freedom and limitlessness of expressing my heart with paper and ink. I am divorced with two grown children. My daughter is a published author and my son is attending college majoring in zoology.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

