metamorphosis

 Image
a woven intricate design
winter’s barren branches

the icy white sun whispers a ray
through frozen black spindly webs

desperately determined
to ache themselves as far as they can reach

to embrace
the slightest shimmer of warmth

i know the trees
shivering

silently waiting
for spring to offer them a second chance

i saw you
for the last time

when the buds anxiously began to bask
under the new golden sun

funny how time
distorts our visions of trees

a metamorphosis of memories
one tree out of a million

that never survived
the longest winter of my life…

About echowood628

Let me start by saying I have been involved in creative endeavors my entire life. I began playing the piano at age two, composed my first song at age four, and ever since have spent almost every day spending hours allowing my fingers to dance across my keyboard. Composing music for the piano gave me a place to heal and find peace. An art major in college I focused on drawing and figure drawing and I also enjoy oil painting and watercolors. I have always enjoyed poetry and more recently started writing poems and enjoying the freedom and limitlessness of expressing my heart with paper and ink. I am divorced with two grown children. My daughter is a published author and my son is attending college majoring in zoology.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to metamorphosis

  1. ontheplumtree says:

    Beautiful piece. And sad. I always think beauty is somehow tinged with sadness. Maybe because beauty embraces every response.

Leave a Reply

