In The Heart Of A Poet There Is No Weakness

 

 

 

There is no existence.

We only think there is.

Every second is

taken for granted,

contemplated only after it has vanished.

Poetry….dear sweet poetry,

inhales the moments

we have exhaled too quickly.

It has no walls

to imprison our thoughts.

In between every line

abounds poetic freedom.

Wild willful self-expression…

‘absolute’

How many children

were snuffed away

in the hell of man ?

Who then shall reside in the blood of a rose

and revel in its delight.

May freedom forever float

in the boundless haven

somewhere between our pen and ink

and poetic eternity.

For what is poetry

when forbidden to carry

brutal pain,

settling within the spray of gunpowder

from man’s endless love affair with violence.

Those burning bullets

barely brushing by,

as we turn the other cheek,

stoically skipping through fantasyland.

A screaming scarlet coat

coveting a little girl;

erased,

smudged out,

forever fading

into a colorless world.

Let the sweet child

forever live between the lines

of the freedom all poets are blessed with.

Pain is not weakness

rather an awareness.

Without poetry…

How will I ever remember you?

A little girl’s vivid presence

lingers in an aging acrid black and white photograph.

May we forever capture her

existence,

which we exhaled too quickly,

only contemplating after she vanished.

The little girl aflame

in her red coat.

She still smolders…

Her fleeting moment in time

left frozen in a photograph.

Forgive me for not writing about

the beauty in a flower

she never beheld.

Poetry is so much more,

not only for those who found love,

also

for those who never knew it…

About echowood628

Let me start by saying I have been involved in creative endeavors my entire life. I began playing the piano at age two, composed my first song at age four, and ever since have spent almost every day spending hours allowing my fingers to dance across my keyboard. Composing music for the piano gave me a place to heal and find peace. An art major in college I focused on drawing and figure drawing and I also enjoy oil painting and watercolors. I have always enjoyed poetry and more recently started writing poems and enjoying the freedom and limitlessness of expressing my heart with paper and ink. I am divorced with two grown children. My daughter is a published author and my son is attending college majoring in zoology.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In The Heart Of A Poet There Is No Weakness

  1. lauralme says:

    Beautiful and true!!! LOVED reading this ❤

Leave a Reply

